Annual senior recognition and awards banquet held at Erickson

Dental Hygiene Class of 2018
Dental Hygiene Class of 2018

Congratulations to the West Virginia University School of Dentistry Department of Dental Hygiene Class of 2018. The department hosted its annual awards and senior recognition banquet Friday, April 6 at the Erickson Alumni Center. This year’s class includes:
Carrie Brescoach, Huntington, WV
Mylea Carpenter, Beach City, OH
Madison Chapman, Huntington, WV
Loran Clayton, Moundsville, WV
Kelsey Cochrane, Mebane, NC
Ashleigh Collins, Chesterfield, VA
Kimberly Cooper, Davis, WV
Samantha Farley, Waterford, OH *not pictured
Kelli Feaster, Petersburg, WV
Kristen Hanlan, Bridgeport, WV *not pictured
Kesha Harding, Sissonville, WV
Paige Holmes, Hurricane, WV
Marissa Kohler, Wheeling, WV
Sarah Kyle, Clarksburg, WV
Charlie Lucente, Charleston, WV
Rachel Maerten, Eldersburg, MD
Isabella McDaniel, Cowan, WV
Kaitlyn McQuain, New Stanton, PA
Julia Miller, Keyser, WV
Olivia Nave, Westminster, MD
Kirby Novak, Bridgeport, WV
Hayley Plank-Collins, Falling Waters, WV

The annual celebration includes the presentation of multiple awards for both seniors and some sophomores and juniors.

WVU School of Dentistry Alumni Association Instrument Award

Elizabeth Green
Asst. Professor Lisa Lisauckis

Award requirements: Sophomore, GPA 3.0, demonstrates competency and professionalism in preclinical techniques

Sigma Phi Alpha Sophomore Award

Jordyne Jones
Assoc. Professor Dr. Alcinda Shockey

Alpha Xi Chapter of Sigma Phi Alpha National Dental Hygiene Honor Society
Award requirements: Exhibits potential for outstanding achievement in dental hygiene

Judith Grubb Dental Hygiene Scholarship Award

Elizabeth Green
Professor Marlana Thomas

Awarded by Mr. Francis McGreevy in honor of Judith Grubb, dental hygienist, School of Dentistry 
Award requirments: Sophomore, WV resident, strong clinical skills, good academic standing

McMechen-Hock Family Scholarship for Dental Hygiene

Zachary Johnson
Presenter Carol Spear

Deborah McMechen-Hock, Dental Hygiene Class of 1968
Established scholarship in memory of her parents.
Award Requirements: Sophomore, WV resident, good academic standing

West Virginia Dental Hygienists’ Association Junior Award

Katya Pase
Amanda Stottlemyer, WVDH

The award is for the purchase of instruments needed for clinical boards.
Award requirements: Junior, maintained 3.0 GPA, exemplifies advanced clinical skills and outstanding patient care

Melissa Carlson Armstrong Memorial Dental Hygiene Scholarship

Asst. Professor Ashlee Sowards
Hannah Vecchio

Established in honor of Melissa Carlson, Dental Hygiene Class of 2001, by her mother and classmates.

Ann Vargo Rogers Scholarship

Presenter Cathy Frere
Laykin Beardsley

In memory of Ann Vargo Rogers, Dental Hygiene Class of 1972
Award requirements: WV high school graduate, junior dental hygiene student, displays Ann’s pleasant and respectful demeanor

Mary Sanders Memorial Merit Award and Scholarship

Asst. Professor Ashlee Sowards
Mei Xu

Award is named for Mary Frances Sanders, Dental Hygiene Class of 1977.
Recipient selected by classmates

Lisa A. Smith Memorial Merit Scholarship

Presenter Reid Smith
Hannah Vechhio

The family of Lisa Smith (her brother Reid pictured above), Class of 1986, established scholarship in memory of Smith’s enthusiasm for dental hygiene, exceptional intellect and compassionate heart.

Dr. David and Mrs. Linda Edwards Scholarship

Dr. David Edwards
Maranda Thompson
Linda Edwards

First year for scholarship established by Dr. Edwards in honor of his wife, Linda, a dental hygienist.
Award requirements:  WV resident intending to practice in WV, demonstrates strong clinical skills and upholds high ethical and moral standards

Margaret J. Epperly Scholarship for Dental Hygiene

Margaret J. Epperly
Megan Longwell

Established by Ms. Epperly in 2018 for a well-rounded, compassionate WV resident.

Research Poster Award Recipients

Faculty chooses top three 2-year research projects

3rd Place
Carrie Brescoach and Hayley Plank-Collins
“Radiographic Compliance within the WVU School of Dentistry”
2nd Place
Sarah Kyle and Kirby Novak
“The Effect of Coconut Oil on the Inhibition of Periodontal Bacteria in vitro”

1st place
Samantha Farley and Kriston Hanlan *not pictured
“A Needs Assessment to Evaluate the Perception of Dental Professionals Regarding the Magnetization of the Assistant Instrument Station”

West Virginia Dental Hygienists’ Association Senior Award

Assoc. Professor Suann Gaydos
Julia Miller

Award consists of a one-year ADHA membership and two WVDHA continuing education courses.
Award requirements: Presented to student with strong desire to pursue ADHA leadership, WV resident with 3.0 GPA. 

American Association of Public Health Dentistry Award
Samantha Farley *not pictured

National recognition for demonstrating a special interest or achievement in community dentistry and dental public health

Colgate Student Total Achievement Recognition Award

Assoc. Professor Suann Gaydos
Julia Miller

Award reqirements: Granted to senior who demonstrates dedication to dental hygiene profession, exhibits compassion for patients

Special Care Dentistry/Academy of Dentistry for Persons with Disabilities Award
Samantha Farley *not pictured
Given to senior student who has demonstrated sincere interest in needs of patients with mental and/or physical disabilities

Hu-Friedy Outstanding Senior Clinician Award (Golden Scaler Award)

Assoc. Professor Suann Gaydos
Kirby Novak

Hu-Friedy Dental Manufacturing Company honors a senior clinician who displays exceptional clinical achievement.

Dr. Robert E. Sausen Distinguished Service Award

Asst. Dean Dr. Rober Wanker
Julia Miller

Given to student who demonstrates high ideals of service, including loyalty, dedication and integrity to toward the school, alumni association and the community

West Virginia University School of Dentistry Alumni Association Award

Assistant Professor Lisa Lisauckis
Kirby Novak

Presented to a senior in the top 25% of class, exhibits outstanding clinical competency and professionalism

Sigma Phi Alpha Honor Society Membership

Charlie Lucente - Graduating Snr. Inductee
Wendi Gray, Sigma Phi Alpha
Kirby Novak - Graduating Snr. Inductee
Dawn Ann Dean - Alumni member (member of 1st WVU MSDH class)
Dr. Keith Hildebrand - Honorary member (1st male dental hygienest in WV)
Michelle Sweeney - Alumni inductee (member of 1st WVU MSDH class)
Wendy Gray, Sigma Phi Alpha 

*Farley and Hanlan were presenting in an innovation competition in Massachussetts.