West Virginia University Health Sciences will be honoring 10 individuals and two teams at the Health Sciences Center for outstanding achievement Wednesday, April 4 at 4 p.m. in the Pylons Lobby. The ceremony is open to the entire Health Sciences community.

The Vice President’s Achievement Awards are bestowed annually on people and groups who have made significant contributions to the missions of the University and their schools and units.

Winners were nominated by their peers and selected by the Achievement Awards committees.

Please join us in honoring these winners for the outstanding job they do on a daily basis:

Faculty Awards

Teaching Award – Dr. Andrew K. Shiemke, PhD, Associate Professor in Biochemistry in the School of Medicine

Research and Scholarly Activity – Dr. George A. Kelley, DA, FACSM, Professor in Biostatistics in the School of Public Health

Mentoring – Dr. James W. Simpkins, PhD, Professor and Director of Center for Basic & Translational Stroke Research

Service – Dr. Anne F. Cronin, PhD, OTR/L, Professor of Human Performance – Occupational Therapy in School of Medicine


Staff Awards

Administrative/Managerial Award – Lana Yoho, Post-Award Director in the Office of Research and Graduate Education

Clerical/Secretarial Award- Rhonda Shorr, Administrative Assistant in the School of Pharmacy Dean’s Office

Service/Maintenance Award – Wendy Cress, Campus Service Worker and Michael Summers, Trades Specialist in Facilities Management

Professional/Non-Teaching Award – Summer Kuhn, Curriculum Research Associate in the Health Sciences and Technology Academy (HSTA)

Paraprofessional/Technician Award- Griselda “Ruby” Davila, Dental Assistant in Pediatric Dentistry


Team Awards

Team Achievement Award – Pharmaceutical Systems and Policy, WVU School of Pharmacy

Go First Award – Information Technology Service Desk


WISH (Women In Science & Health) Awards

Mid-Career – Hannah Hazard, MD, FACS

Women in Science and Health Advanced Career Award – Usha Sambamoorthi, PhD


US News & World Report National Ranking in 2017

Department of Urology


Health Sciences Volunteer of the Year

Seth A. Huggins