Five graduate students in the Immunology and Microbial Pathogenesis program were awarded first place honors for their poster presentations at the 53rd Van Liere Research Conference held March 22-23 at the WVU Health Sciences Center.

Winning students include:

Ting Wong, under the mentorship of Heath Damron, Ph.D.
Jesse Hall, under the mentorship of Heath Damron, Ph.D.
Kelley Monoghan, under the mentorship of Edwin Wan, Ph.D.
Emel Sen Kilic, under the mentorship of Mariette Barbier, Ph.D.
Hayden Basinger, under the mentorship of Heath Damron, Ph.D.

Dr. Van Liere served as the Dean of the School of Medicine from 1937 until 1960. He developed the two-year medical school into a four-year accredited program. He was also a consultant to the Surgeon General of the United States. Van Liere Memorial Convocation and WVU Health Sciences Research Day is named in his honor.


Picture: from left to right: Hayden Basinger (2nd year medical student), Ting Wong (IMP 1st year PhD student), Jesse Hall (IMP 2nd year PhD student), Kelly Monaghan (IMP 2nd year PhD student), Emel Sen-Kilic (IMP 3rd year PhD student) and Andrea Pettit (IMMB senior undergraduate student).