Back to News

WVU School of Pharmacy celebrates 110 years with new Hall of Fame inductees

The West Virginia University School of Pharmacy is proud to announce the induction of new members into its Alumni Hall of Fame as part of its 110th-anniversary celebration. This marks a significant occasion, as it is the first group of inductees since the School's centennial in 2014. 

Earlier this year, a public call for nominations resulted in the School receiving numerous entries. The nominations were evaluated by a nine-member screening committee that provided recommendations to the School’s external leadership council. The main criteria utilized were that the candidate’s pharmacy career and/or accomplishments in healthcare were deemed truly outstanding, demonstrating sustained and meritorious contributions to the pharmacy profession, West Virginia University, or the healthcare society at large.

This year, 27 distinguished alumni have been chosen, representing diverse sectors such as clinical/community practice, research, academia, and the pharmaceutical industry. These inductees now form less than 5% of the roughly 4,000 alumni, signifying their remarkable accomplishments.

"It's an honor for us to recognize these exemplary individuals who have significantly impacted their field of work and communities," said Dean Petros, Gates Wigner Dean of the WVU School of Pharmacy. "Their achievements not only underscore the legacy of our School but also reinforce our commitment to excellence in pharmacy education and healthcare."

The induction ceremony will take place during the School’s 110th-anniversary celebration on June 1, 2024, at the Erikson Alumni Center. The event promises to be a momentous occasion, supported in part by WVU Medicine and Walgreens.

New inductees to the Hall of Fame are Erik E. Abel (’06), Mayur M. Amonkar (’97), Neelam Azad (’07), Aaron Cumpston (’01), Carmella Evans-Molina (’96), Joseph J. Filipek (’79), Xin Gao (’01), Robert M. Gill (’66), Niesha L. Griffith (’89), Khalid M. Kamal (’05), Stephen S. Leonard (’02), Ben Lopez (’08), Carroll Clark Martin (’52), Drew Massey (’02), Jenna M. Merandi (’10), John E. Miller (’61), Karla M. Miller (’02), LeeAnn Miller (’03), Tami Rodriguez (’06), Wanda Kellison Rogers (’63), Mary Ann (Schwarz) Bell (’65), James F. Smith (’71), George G. Sokos (’94), Jennifer Means Stephens (’90), Joanna L. Stollings (’03), Timothy Gibson Whitten (’80), Lisa W. Zannoni (’84).

For more information on the event or to make reservations, please visit

About the WVU School of Pharmacy The West Virginia University School of Pharmacy, celebrating 110 years of advancing health through innovation in pharmacy education, patient care, and research, continues to lead in training the next generation of pharmacists and pharmaceutical scientists.