Spencer & Hostler Awards

Stanley Hostler

Stanley Hostler, Stan, was a friend and avid supporter of HSTA from its inception. He volunteered countless hours and was a fierce champion and advocate for the program. His wisdom, leadership and financial support were instrumental in building HSTA and provided hundreds of students, opportunity, and hope.

 Stan Hostler Community Service Award

  • 2023 Winners are:
    • Emily Browning-Cabell, Lincoln, Boone
    • Maria Providenti-Kanawha
    • Ashlyn Richardson-McDowell
    • Molly Long-Mt. HSTA
    • Emily Druschel- Ohio, Marshall

Sara Spencer Essay Contest

Sara Spencer was a 13-year-old student and member of HSTA in Kanawha County. She had completed her first State Science Symposium and was looking forward to the beginning of summer when she was tragically killed in 1998, while she was out with friends one evening. Sara was taken from us too soon, but we remember her as a charming young lady who was quick to smile and had a beautiful, gentle, soul.  She loved music, children, her family and friends. To honor her memory and kind spirit, HSTA awards a scholarship to competing seniors who submit essays. 

 Sara Spencer Essay Contest

  • 2023 winners are:  
    • Rylee Mathews- Braxton, Webster, Roane, Calhoun Region
    • John Page IV- Cabell, Lincoln, Boone Region
    • Sidney Sheets- Greenbrier, Fayette Region
    • Maria Providenti- Kanawha Region 
    • Autumn Reynolds- McDowell
    • Leah Banks- Mingo, Logan
    • Madisyn Simpson- Mt. HSTA
    • Kathryn Spears- Ohio, Marshall
    • Tanjana Johnson- Eastern Panhandle